Galibore Fishing and Nature Camp


I spent the last 3 days at the Galibore Camp on the banks of the Cauvery River in Karnataka State in South India.

As per the Jungle Lodges website of the Government of Karnataka, “The Galibore Fishing and Nature Camp is tucked away literally far from the maddening crowd, deep in the deciduous forests about 10 km from Sangam, on the banks of the River Cauvery. The Camp is covered with trees lining both sides of the river. This is indeed a rough country. This is ideal for those who want total privacy and no crowd. The camp is 95 Kms from Bangalore near Sangam via Kanakapura”.

The road from Bangalore to the Camp was actually a national highway, with millions of potholes and unusual narrowing at many places which pushes the odd farmer out of the road when he hears the horn sound and slows down rapidly at towns through which it passes. I sometimes wonder whether there is any performance appraisal system for government employees who ought to take care of infrastructure such as roads and highways. Even if there were one, I am sure they know how to take care of it. And, we have people whose apathy is famous, their interest being enhanced only when there is an election with its attendant goodies.

The beaten track (9 Kms) from the highway to the Camp was back-breaking, but I fully concur with the need to keep it that way. I agree with the decision or non-decision, as the case may be, not to lay tar roads in the midst of jungles thereby threatening the eco-system. While it is possible to generate millions of dollars in terms of tourism revenues and thousands of jobs in the midst of poverty all around in the surrounding villages by introducing eco-tourism in an aggressive manner as Western countries or even a Singapore/Hong Kong government would have done to generate tourism traffic, it may not be the right thing to do if you reflect on the matter. Man needs to suffer and take on discomfort before connecting with and enjoying nature, instead of taking the 5-star route and have an effortless engagement. It will be challenging but it would make man realize the prized nature of nature and animal kingdom which have been taken very lightly in the past. To this extent, I agree with the slow progress in India towards modernizing the tourism spots.

The Camp itself was amazing in its rustic setting and simplicity. There was no electricity in the tents, save for a tube light in the common dining place. There was a hurricane lamp at the front of the tent and the back of the tent, which were set at around 7 PM. There was an electric fan provided in the tent (no light though), which did not work in my tent. It became a bit stuffy in the night, and I asked for a working fan the next day, which was provided. The tent itself was clean with nice beds and good towels. The bathroom was also clean. Was I not surprised !?

The environment was very conducive to inducing a calmness in one’s thoughts. There was thankfully, no mobile coverage, and the whole camp operates on a single telephone line. It is a fantastic environment for reflecting on one’s own life and career, and strategizing for the future, if one wishes to do that. Otherwise, it is a beautiful place to do nothing. Nothing of any type. Just laze around and read a book on the hammock !

I went trekking on the hills surrounding the camp. It was difficult to climb nearly 1,000 feet over two stretches. It was even more difficult to climb down. I slipped at couple of places when I accidentally stepped on gravel. The guide helped me with some techniques – such as not stepping on gravel at any time, moving left and right in a zig-zag fashion trying to find some ledges or grassy patch where you can firmly plant your feet, etc., It was tiring, but was a good attempt to do something unusual in life – I have never trekked in life so far, and this is a great experience to see how one can push oneself towards some serious accomplishment in life !

I had great sleep on all the 3 nights I stayed in the camp – the sleep was induced by the rhythmic flow of water in the river, chirping of birds and other creatures, etc., I am not a “nature-man”, but this was a very good opportunity to connect with nature. I did not see any animals, save the couple of dogs and the great Indian Gaur (only a baby one). I was told a crocodile was sighted, but it never crossed my way !

All said it was a great way to spend a precious 3 days in the middle of a jungle, and energise oneself . Hope you folks will get the opportunity as well.

Cauvery River

The Tent

The Hammock to laze

Have a great week ahead folks.

Best Regards

Vijay Srinivasan
23 July 2006
Mumbai

20 comments

  1. danesh

    Sounds absolutely fabulous! Wish I had been there. I’ll be keen to hear the outcome of your 3 days of reflections, I’m sure there were some.

    Hey, can you post some bigger sized pictures or not? Upload and link to flickr or something lah!

    Take care matey.

  2. Vijay Srinivasan

    I uploaded from Flickr, but was forced to downsize to 75 x 75 pixels instead of the usual 400 x 300 pixels for some reason. Will check again. It was truly a great experience to go to this isolated camp.

  3. ahmed

    iam goin there this 25 ,26 march..lookin forward to it..any tips .do and donts and wat to look out for.any stuff to carry.
    ur reply will be appreciated
    thanks

  4. Vijay Srinivasan

    Ahmed, I suggest you carry very light clothing, sunscreen lotion, mosquito repellant, and good cameras !

    As I mentioned, be careful on the gravel….no fun without trekking at this place.

    You will enjoy the place, all the best !!

    VIJAY

  5. http://bestnaturalhealthsupplements.com

    Hi there, You have performed an incredible job. I will certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

  6. Costume Ideas

    Great tremendous things here. Im very satisfied to see your post. Thank you so much and i am having a look forward to touch you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

  7. czytaj tutaj więcej

    Hi, I do think this is an excellent blog. I stumbledupon it
    😉 I am going to come back yet again since I bookmarked
    it. Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and
    continue to help other people.

  8. Janelle

    Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to send you an
    email. I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in
    hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to
    seeing it develop over time.

  9. phen375 official website

    Have you ever considered about adding a little
    bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and everything.
    However think of if you added some great visuals or videos to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with pics and video clips, this blog
    could definitely be one of the greatest in its niche. Great
    blog!

  10. snowplowing services cleveland

    Appreciating the time and energy you put into your blog
    and detailed information you present. It’s great to
    come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed information.
    Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds
    to my Google account.

  11. clitty

    I’m trying to start up a small blog, primarily to hold a few short stories I’ve written and get feedback, but also for various other blog-type activities. This won’t do me any good if I can’t get my words where people can read them.. . Blogspot is preferred, but anything allowing advertising would be fine. I might want to monetise eventually, and wordpress seems to discourage that, as I understand their terms of use..

Leave a Reply

