Zampa by Vallee de Vin


Great Chenin Blanc !

Actually, I was reluctant to buy this being a new name in wines. I was veering towards the favourite Sula Chenin Blanc and the Indage Sauvignon Blanc, but the shopkeeper insisted I try this new wine. After some dilly-dallying, I decided to take the risk. The problem in trying out bad whites is that my wife only prefers chilled whites and I obviously wanted to take less of a risk with a known, tried and tested one !

However, the Zampa turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Easy to drink, it had a pleasant finish with “overtones of honey and confectionery”. I really enjoyed it. May be Indage is better, but it is a wrong comparison anyway. Zampa grapes are grown by Australian viticulturist, Simon Robertson, and the winemaker is Paul Bailey from Australia. No wonder they have created some good magic from the Sahyadri Valley of Nashik District.

At Rs 600 (USD 12 or SGD 18 appx) it is around 25% more expensive than the Sula Chenin Blanc, and even 10% higher than the more renowned Indage. I think they should correct the pricing, as beyond Rs 450 – 500, the tolerance levels for incompatible pricing diminish in buyers. This is not a question of affordability, it is price to value ratio for long-time wine drinkers. If one can get excellent wines in Australia for A$ 10, why not a similar price for good wines made in India ? Unfortunately, Indian wine makers continue to price high to tap the well-heeled, not really promoting wine as an all-time drink or aperitif, as it can well be positioned as such. So, a large portion of the market goes for hard liquor or beer.

Well, try the Zampa.

Cheers

Vijay Srinivasan
14th March 2009
Mumbai

8 comments

  1. Amit

    Hi!
    A rather interesting blog you have here!

    I tried out the Zinzi Red recently, and at the price, I found it to be surprisingly good.

    If you can, try getting your hands on Mountain View Chenin Blanc (Phadtare Estates, Nashik – INR 540) – I found it to be excellent! In fact, Sula Chenin Blanc was a bit of a disappointment, since it left me with a “wheatish” after-taste…

  2. Bali wholesale

    Hello! Im at work browsing your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the outstanding work!

  3. Trackback: Baby Bathing Game
  4. 6 plus case

    Gгeat article! Thіs is the kind of іnformation tҺɑt
    arе meant to be shared аcross thе web. Shame on Google foг no longer positioning this publish upper!
    Comе on ovеr аnd seek advice fгom my site
    . Ƭhank you =)

  5. Tyrone Shabot

    I’m writing to make you know what a wonderful experience our child had visiting your web page. She discovered lots of things, including what it is like to have a wonderful coaching heart to have others with no trouble have an understanding of certain multifaceted subject areas. You really surpassed people’s expectations. Many thanks for imparting such warm and helpful, dependable, edifying and as well as fun guidance on the topic to Mary.

  6. полет софия варна

    I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

  7. san diego cas

    I need to import about 50 of 458 posts from a blogspot blog into wordpress. If I use the plug in import tool, I am concerned that it will duplicate the posts that were already imported in a previous batch. Also the prior posts have been re-categorized. I need to hold those as well. Any tips will help! Thank you..

Leave a Reply

