Lousy Naan – Experience at Copper Chimney


We (my family and I) went to the relatively new Copper Chimney restaurant at the Oberoi Mall last evening.

My recommendation – avoid it.

Well there are several reasons why I am not suggesting this restaurant to my friends.The first thing I noticed was the heavy ambient noise – I thought this was a “fine dining” establishment, with a quiet and elegant surrounding – but it is not. There was a lot of noise form the diners of course, and there was heavy traffic of waiters congregating around you, and repeatedly opening and closing the doors to the kitchen. Further, the noise from the mall side was also streaming in constantly. But I guess we can live with these noises and waiter traffic for some time.

What I couldn’t live with was the poor quality of Tandoori Naan – my staple restaurant food ! Also, the heavy masala content of the two side dishes we ordered showed that the cooking is more centred on excessive add-ons, embellishments, too much salt making you drink cold water repeatedly, rather than on “enhancing” the vegetable dish and the chicken curry (I am not naming the exact dishes). The only saving grace was the butter naan, which I am being told was good.

Mind you, these types of restaurants are anyway overpriced. So, the least a customer would expect is (a) some quiet environment ; (b) impeccable and polite service of the non-intrusive type ; and, (c) very high quality of food which is the fundamental and probably the only major reason why we are there at the restaurant anyway, sacrificing the fantastic home-cooked food. This logic is NOT understood by 90% of the restaurateurs in India. They run overpriced restaurants which serve average food – they think that the guests have NO choice !

I also had a funny experience last evening at this over-hyped restaurant – when the head waiter came to ask me how was the food, I replied in the negative, pointing out at the black pieces from the Tandoori Naan on my plate and the reminder portion of the same item lying still unconsumed in the Naan Basket. Not sure of what he heard from me, he sent the other co-head-waiter (!) who repeated the questioning and I responded more strongly this time – asking him would he eat what was in the Basket which was looking blackish…..asked him to take it to the chef and show him !

Even the “roomali” roti was not served properly – it should have been separated out in a different kind of packaging (like foil paper) and not mixed with the rest of the “rough” surfaced naans.

Instead of waiving off the cost of the poor quality items, the folks were asking whether they can get something else – I told them that I am done and would not return to their “famous” restaurant.

Well adieu Copper Chimney !

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
8th May 2010
Mumbai

7 comments

  1. Rohstoffe

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog
    like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% certain.
    Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Appreciate it

  2. Jack

    I need to to thank you for this very good read!!

    I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it. I have got you book marked
    to check out new stuff you

Leave a Reply

