Failure of Apple


Well that sounds big.

But I am referring to the third failure of my Apple iMAC in four years. I am coming to the end of my patience. This time around it was the power supply which failed. How come Windows Laptops, which have so much of software problems and security issues, do not have such a hardware failure rates ?

Over the past few years, I have come to love the Apple MacOS and the neat way it runs without giving too much of a trouble. I did have issues, but could fix on my own. However, one thing that I cannot fix on my own (even with the help of countless number of Apple-related websites with generous information on how to fix almost any problem), is the Apple hardware. The design of the iMAC, and in general any Apple hardware, is so unique and refined, that the hardware suppliers must have completely re-engineered everything they knew about hardware, to fit into the design requirements.

All that leave users at the mercy of the Apple service stores, which are damn expensive to start with. Even to look at the problem the charge works out to some USD 35 / INR 1,600. And, one is never sure what is the problem all about. In this recent case of failure, the power-on button did not work – the display was blank, with no hint of what is going on (or not going on !). After trying out couple of suggestions at the Apple website, I could not resolve, and so had to pack the whole system and take it to the nearest Apple Store.

I am yet to receive the system resolution after 2 days, and this makes me a bit nervous. Apple creates this big dependency and due to the huge demand that Apple is trying to satisfy, I have a feeling that quality is taking second place. This may not be good in the long run, as system failures are not appreciated by the heavy user community – whether they are using iMAC, MACBook, iPOD, iPAD, or the iPhone. Apple needs to pay attention to product manufacturing quality, testing, and servicing. These are absolutely critical for growth.

Well, I am still waiting to hear back from my Apple Service Shop !

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
21st August 2010
Mumbai

7 comments

  1. Divorce in Colorado

    Attractive portion of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to say that I acquire in fact loved account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing in your augment and even I fulfillment you get admission to persistently fast.

  2. camion usati

    I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m quite sure I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  3. Tobias Jersey

    Fantastic items from you, man. I have take into account your stuff previous to and you are simply extremely wonderful. I actually like what you’ve bought right here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way by which you say it. You are making it entertaining and you continue to care for to stay it sensible. I can’t wait to read much more from you. That is actually a tremendous web site.

  4. Lance

    I ѡas recommended this blog Ƅy my cousin. Ӏ’m not suгe whetҺеr tɦis post is wгitten by Һim ɑs no one else
    know sսch detailed аbout my difficulty. Уou are amazing!
    Ꭲhanks!

Leave a Reply

