Some More Shiraz and Ice wine ?


Many friends know of my interest in wine and viticulture.

I discovered couple of new wines, which seem interesting. One is from India, and the other, from Germany.

The Indian Shiraz is from Champagne Indage – it is called TIGER HILL Shiraz 2006 from the famed Nashik Valley Vineyards of Maharashtra State. This is a good Shiraz wine, decently priced at INR 625 (USD 14 or SGD 19 appx.). This is a rich wine with a mildly purple colour, and very intriguing. It is a bit spicy with cherry flavour and what I would call a full-bodied wine with character. I enjoyed this wine, though I regret that I did not decant it properly. Planning to try one more bottle soon with proper decanting and some nice appetiser to go with it. I would recommend this wine as a sophisticated Indian Shiraz, trying to leap towards an International audience eventually. Some more work on branding and positioning is obviously required, as is the case with most Indian wines, though Champagne Indage is well known within India atleast.

The other wine was rather an interesting variety – it is a “NACHTGOLD EISWEIN” from Germany. I had never tasted Ice Wine, and I really relished its rather sweet taste. Nachtgold means “gold of the night”. The name comes because the water inside the grape skins has been frozen to ice so that the grape juice is concentrated to a golden coloured liquid, often called “Nachtgold”. One gets an intense aroma of peaches, melons, and apples and a mature sweetness which one can enjoy thoroughly. It is simply a great wine, with a taste and aroma unmatched by the usual wines. This Ice Wine falls under the category of “dessert wines”. Strongly recommended if one has not tried this variety of wine, not usually available in India.

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
28th August 2010
Mumbai

3 comments

  1. Denis Diggins

    Just wanted to let you know that Canadian wineries craft the worlds top ice wines. Over past twenty or so years we Canadians have grown to 80% plus market share worldwide, far and away surpassing Germany, the historic leader for this type of wine. Ice Wine is not well known; very much a niche market. It is on the pricey side, and intensely sweet but not cloyingly so due to bracing acidity. I live in Niagara area home to more than 50 wineries nearly all of which craft world wide icewines. Full disclosure, I’m in the business and frankly I’m biased.

  2. Gwen Maggie

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this outstanding blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will share this website with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  3. camion usati

    I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m quite sure I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

