Chenin Sauvignon – Sula Mosaic


I was intrigued by the wine varietal on this bottle which I saw at my usual wine shop.

Never seen this combination of grapes. Sula is a well-known Indian vineyard, better known for its whites. I have always enjoyed their Chenin Blanc which is also slightly sweeter than other such wines. It is refreshingly delicious and very easy to drink.

So, I thought Chenin Sauvignon can only add more complexity to what is a good white wine from the Sula vineyard. I talked to the shopkeeper, but as all Indian wine shopkeepers do, he was ambiguous, and said that one cannot go wrong with Sula ! Well, I don’t buy that kind of argument, but nevertheless decided to give it a try. It costed only INR 320, so it was less of a risk from the price point of view. But I know from experience that a poor selection of wine could ruin an evening of delicate engagements !

I decided that the right temperature for this wine has to be somewhere around 11 to 12 degrees celsius in the wine cooler. I did not have any specification, but that decision turned out to be good. When this wine is chilled below the usual 14 degrees, I guess it is a very good wine to drink.

I could clearly sense the honey dew and melon flavours of the chenin blanc and the complex taste of the sauvignon blanc, coming together in a good wine combination from Sula. I would recommend this wine for some light-headed Saturday evening drink in a companionship which makes it easy for a light conversation with occasional humour. Does it sound complex ? Sorry, this wine is for light drinking. Do not expect sophistication, but expect a sweet conclusion !

Enjoy this wine, it is unbeatable at this kind of price anyway.

Cheers

Vijay Srinivasan
24th October 2010
Mumbai

10 comments

  1. Binti Sandhu

    Hey..You seem to be Interseted in Wine..I have a suggestion for you..
    as a Wine enthusiast, I favour Zampa Wine as it’s appearance, colour and flavour combine to reveal a story.! You should try Zampa Chenin Blanc..!
    Cheers..!

  2. bet365

    hi I was fortunate to find your theme in baidu
    your subject is fine
    I get much in your blog really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you site is really brilliant
    where can find it

  3. onderhoudsvrije tuin

    Very great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I’m
    hoping you write again soon!

  4. satish

    i just purchased SULA MOSAIC chenin sauvignon, but it is manufacturing date is Sep 2010. can i drink it now. expiry date is not mentioned in the label.can u please suggest me to drink this wine or not

  5. Enrique Katoh

    Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News. Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thanks

Leave a Reply

