Nuts


Despite the high calorific value of plant nuts, I would recommend incorporating at least some nuts intake in the daily food. My personal favourites are almonds, walnuts, pistachios and once in a while, some cashew nuts.

The most suggested nut by many health aficionados is the walnut. Many laymen do not seem to recognize this nut, while almonds are well recognized. May be it is due to marketing ? I have seen several ads recently on almonds and their goodness – someone is trying to drive up the consumption !

Walnut has excellent properties – I would let the reader do the appropriate research as my posting is not supposed to be a health recommendation of any sort. It is anti-inflammatory, anti-cancer, and what not ! Amazing nut, I should say !!

So, one day I went shopping for walnut in the suburban super market in Mumbai, and to my surprise could not find walnut (almond was available). I recalled the availability of anything and everything in Mustafa Super Market in Singapore. I tried a couple of times and then gave up, as I was told I got to drive to some specific place in South Mumbai. No time to do distance shopping, unless available online !

So, my favourite nut remained as the almond for a long time, with occasional pistachios and cashew nuts. Recently, I walked into the Big Bazaar Chain of The Future Group, and asked for the “nuts” section, and was pleasantly surprised to find the walnut !

Let us look at the cost – while for almond the cost was some INR 120 for 200 gms (translating to INR 600 per Kg, or approximately USD 14 per Kg), the walnut’s cost was some 50% higher at INR 180 for 200 gms (translating to INR 900 per Kg, or USD 20 per Kg). I had no benchmark on pricing anyway, as this was really some random shopping, and bought the walnut, only expressing my point to the sales person on the packaging size of 200 gms, which would make me return to the shop every 3 weeks approximately.

I am not sure whether the walnut was overpriced. But in any case, it was tasting good, so it should be all right in terms of quality, I guess. Again, no easy benchmark out here in Mumbai.

I am going nuts.

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
12th December 2010
Mumbai

3 comments

  1. carocelle countertop dishwasher

    I have been surfing on-line greater than 3 hours as of late, yet I by no means found any fascinating article like yours. It is pretty value enough for me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made excellent content as you probably did, the web shall be much more useful than ever before.

  2. Victoria

    Its superb as your other articles : D, thanks for putting up. “Love is like an hourglass, with the heart filling up as the brain empties.” by Jules Renard.

Leave a Reply

