Vinsura : A Forgettable Wine


I made the mistake of an adventurer last weekend at the wine shop of Hyper City. I was looking for some new Shiraz wine and walked around a couple of times and chanced upon this new brand – “Vinsura” from Vinsura Winery of Nashik valley in Maharashtra. I had not heard of this brand till that time, and decided to take a chance as the positioning in the wine shop was quite prominent. Plus, the English on the bottle read well and there was this signature of the wine maker on the bottle. I got influenced and since the price was decent I picked up a Chenin Blanc as well as a Shiraz from this winery.

What a mistake ?!

I did not get one lousy wine, I got two lousy wines !!

While the Chenin Blanc was not so good, the Shiraz was just terrible. What kind of wines are these, I would like to ask Mr M.P. Sharma who signed off on the bottles as the Wine Maker of Vinsura Winery.

I would strongly suggest to any wine connoisseur to avoid these forgettable wines. These wines are no match for a Sula Chenin Blanc or a Sula Dindori Reserve or a Grovers’ La Reserve at all. There is a world of difference, and in the world of wines even a small difference in the quality of wines is unacceptable, and when there is such a wide difference I would rather throw the bottles out.

Look at what is written out on the Shiraz bottle of wine – “Strong, sharp and powerful (!), Vinsura Shiraz is in many ways like a gripping power balllad that lingers long after it’s heard. The mysterious dark red and enticing aromas are like preludes to a striking concerto waiting to unfold. And when it does unfold, it”ll show you a time as unforgettable (!) as Shiraz’s distinctive taste”.

Very well written for what is essentially a forgettable wine with no such lingering taste. The exclamation marks above are mine, of course. I could not sense the dark berry aromas of freshly ground black pepper and distinct floral notes. Neither could I sense the revealing flavours of ripe fruits on my palate. There was no oak complexity that was claimed. There was no soft, lingering finish. It was a bland wine with no impact and you drink it because you paid money for it.

Sorry Vinsura, you got to do a much better job than just writing a better English describing your wines at your website and on your bottles ! Try again, all the best. But my money has been wasted.

In my scale, your wines do not merit even a 4 out of 10.

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
2nd April 2011
Mumbai

4 comments

  1. vitamin

    Hi, i believe that i noticed you visited my site so i got here to “return the want”.I am attempting to find issues to enhance my website!I suppose its adequate to use some of your ideas!!

  2. click here now

    My personal not to mention my buddies ended up studying the nice information and facts from the blog and then instantly came up with an awful feeling I had not expressed respect to the web site owner to suit them. These women were definitely consequently passionate to learn them and / or have unquestionably actually been taking pleasure in these things. We appreciate you simply being very accommodating as well as for using some brilliant things millions of individuals are basically desirous to be aware of. My honest apologies due to expressing appreciation to you sooner.

  3. Rich Feinen

    Thanks on your marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author.I will always bookmark your blog and will eventually come back later in life. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great posts, have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

