Movie Reviews from Long Flights


I saw the following movies over a total of 35 hours of flights last week (in the order of attractiveness):

1. BLACK SWAN
2. THE TOURIST
3. SECRETARIAT
4. THE NEXT THREE DAYS
5. LITTLE FOCKERS
6. BAND BAAJA BAARAAT – WEDDING MUSIC BAND
7. PO PO CHIU KAI YAN – PERFECT WEDDING
8. THE ACCIDENTAL HUSBAND
9. GOLMAAL 3
10. DOES ANYONE HEAR ANYTHING

I think it is better to watch movies and read newspapers/magazines on long flights rather than hit the sack. It keeps you active for some 70% of the flight (inclusive of dinner and breakfast times), and avoid any possibility that you would get into a sleep-induced blood clot (DVT ?).

While the above movies on Lufthansa flights rank lower than the fare one would get on a more multi-national airline (such as Singapore Airlines), the selection was not utterly bad either. I have listed the movies above in some order, closer to my liking. It is not that I did not like movie #8 or movie #9, rather these movies would get a lower ranking in an analysis of the whole movie vis-a-vis the others listed before them.

Movie #3 was probably the best overall, though I had to rank it lower due to the pace of the movie which was one criterion in my ranking effort. Both Black Swan and The Tourist are very good movies, and Secretariat ranks right along with these movies in terms of its story, depth, complexity, sophistication, acting skills of the lead actors, and direction.

Well, Hollywood has been producing good and excellent movies all along, and these are some very good ones. I enjoyed the Cantonese movie Perfect Wedding, which was not very dissimilar to the Indian movie Wedding Music Band. Both were enjoyable and light movies, which can easily kill time.

The other movies that I saw were not bad.

This is the longest and biggest collection of movies that I have seen in just one week !

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
17th April 2011
Mumbai

5 comments

  1. ursitoare dambovita

    I was curious if you ever thought of changing the structure
    of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people
    could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of
    text for only having 1 or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  2. http://webcenterstudio.com

    I would like to use the ability of saying thanks to you for your professional instruction I have constantly enjoyed checking out your site. I will be looking forward to the particular commencement of my college research and the overall groundwork would never have been complete without checking out your blog. If I might be of any assistance to others, I’d be pleased to help as a result of what I have discovered from here.

Leave a Reply

