Dell’s Service


I am writing to record my appreciation of excellent service by Dell.

I ran into serious technical problems on my home Dell Studio laptop (model 1558). It took 4 days to completely solve the problem. Yes, I was not happy with the time it took, as it has serious impact on family productivity as several folks use the same laptop and they complain about the loss of time.

Fortunately, we have another laptop (Acer Aspire 5580), which though old, continues to deliver decent performance for jobs and folks who do not scream at it. So, we were OK, but we did lose time and sometimes, patience with Dell.

There are a couple of points I wish to make, notwithstanding the loss of time:

1. The Dell technical support people were of high quality and handled me / my daughter quite well with prompt responses and resolution and they were totally committed to fixing the problems ;

2. They were reasonable when it finally came to the point when no further technical fixes could solve the problem for the long-term use of the laptop, and concurred with the need to replace the motherboard and the in-built stereo speakers. Usually, computer companies are stingy when it comes to parts replacement, though the laptop is under full warranty. Even in the case of Dell, they took a fairly long time in reaching the conclusion to replace expensive parts. But, they were nice about it and not picking holes in our arguments. It helps when the laptop is in its first year of what is a 3-year full comprehensive coverage !

However, Dell was not able to give satisfactory response why the battery performed in a sub-optimal way for just 60 minutes when it should have provided power to the laptop for atleast 2 to 2.5 hours. And the battery is rather new, with just 9 months of use on a new laptop ! The laptop has rarely been removed from mains AC power. So, why is the degradation of battery happening ? Dell refused to replace the battery though. I did not agree with them as I believe a laptop, being mobile in nature, should have a battery which atleast meets its specs as advertised. There is some drop in effectiveness of the battery as it goes through multiple charge/discharge cycles, but not to the extent of some 60% in just 9 months.

Nevertheless, I should say that Dell delivered an excellent technical service to me, and I am happy I chose Dell over other makes last year when I was shopping for a new laptop for my daughter.

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
17th July 2011
Mumbai

Leave a Reply

