Airport Touch and Probe


I go through airport security every week in India.

Of late, I am noticing that the touch by the security officer is very firm and probing, even if the metal detector does not detect any metal (or whatever it is supposed to detect). I saw a Westerner squirming ahead of me when he was firmly touched all over his body to find if anything is hidden inside his pant pockets and shirt pockets, and on the back of his shirt and pant. Well, I have stopped squirming and getting ticklish. Just go through the process. After all it is for the security of the passengers ! Nothing can be done to change the process, as Indian Security checks at airports is based mostly on X-ray scanning of your hand baggage and physical frisking of your body (parts) ! That is the way it is, and nothing much can be done about it.

It will take a long time before the full-body scanner which you see in the U.S. airports to arrive in Indian airports. First, that costs much more money than the physical frisker. Second it is expensive to monitor and maintain. So, for the foreseeable future, you are going to be physically frisked in Indian airports, and frankly I believe it is a better way to ensure higher level of security for passengers.

The security officer even opens your wallet and business card holder, and fells your back and moves the metal detector aggressively over your body, sometimes hitting some body parts ! Well, we have to tolerate all that, there is no choice, because any one of us could be trouble makers on a particular flight, and the only way to ensure that the trouble is minimized to the maximum extent is to frisk thoroughly. And, also to use old-fashioned baggage tags on hand baggage which carries a stamp by the X-ray scanners, which will be checked atleast twice manually before you get to board your flight.

Al this helps. There may be loop holes, I don’t know, but things look much more organized in airports these days. They check the boarding pass or the e-ticket against your personal identification before they let you into the airport, I do not know of any country which does this – it provides an additional step in ensuring security. Then at the airline check-in counters, often they ask for identification again, before they issue the boarding pass or stamp the boarding pass that you brought. The baggage is then put on the conveyor belt, well yes it has not been checked till this stage – previously they insisted on sending your check-in bags through an X-ray scanner at the entrance to the check-in area.

Then comes the security check and the physical frisking. All this is good and expected of the security these days. I saw once the El Al airlines staff asking tough questions to passengers destined for Tel Aviv. May be they have already profiled each one of them and just verifying some data. I think such measures are required of passengers travelling to troubled countries.

But many passengers have still not learnt their lessons – they still carry water bottles in their hand baggage, they carry prohibited substances which delays the security queue, and are not aware of many rules which have been put in place – some printed and verbal education is desirable.

So, for people new to India, get ready for the constant “touch and probe” at airport security. To ensure your own security in these tough times !

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
13th August 2011
Mumbai

12 comments

  1. get paid for surveys

    If you’re still on the fence: grab your favorite earphones, head down to a Best Buy and ask to plug them into a Zune then an iPod and see which one sounds better to you, and which interface makes you smile more. Then you’ll know which is right for you.

  2. Mike

    I’m usually to blogging and i really admire your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your web site and keep checking for brand spanking new information.

  3. Robert J. Faller

    Simply wish to say your article is as surprising.
    The clarity for your post is simply great and i could assume you’re an expert on this
    subject. Fine with your permission let me to seize your feed to stay updated with
    impending post. Thank you a million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  4. baixar poweramp full version unlocker gratis

    I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both
    equally educative and engaging, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is something that not enough folks are speaking intelligently about.
    I am very happy I came across this during my hunt for something concerning
    this.

  5. dunked.asia

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after looking at a few of the posts I realized it’s new to
    me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely pleased I found it and I’ll
    be book-marking it and checking back frequently!

  6. Rusty

    Simply desire to say your article is as astounding.
    The clarity in your post is just cool and i could assume
    you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please continue the rewarding work.

  7. android

    I have been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or weblog posts on this kind of
    space . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this web
    site. Reading this information So i’m happy to exhibit that I
    have a very excellent uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed.
    I most indisputably will make certain to don?t fail to remember this website and give it a look regularly.

Leave a Reply

