Brancott Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc


I happened to pick up this wine “Brancott Estate Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010” at Mumbai International Airport last night. I was actually looking for “Cloudy Bay” as I usually look only for wines that I have tried in the past. Unfortunately, I could not find Cloudy Bay, but I decided the best would be to find something from the Marlborough region of New Zealand.

Surprisingly, I found the Brancott Sauvignon Blanc. In fact there were several choices from New Zealand, which is unusual in India. Normally one would find many choices from Australia (which was the case at Mumbai Airport as well). Not even a few from NZ. So, I was pleasantly happy to note this one from NZ, and so picked it up.

I had a glass of this wine on Sunday evening (today) along with some cheese. My observations as follows: though not as good as Cloudy Bay, this Sauvignon Blanc has tropical fruit flavours (melon and grapefruit) and intense acidity. My wife did not like this wine as much as Cloudy Bay.

Overall, I think it is a good wine but quite light despite the acidity. It is not feeling full on the palate, despite having a second drink. I would have preferred a full-bodied intensity reminiscent of Marlborough wines. The wine costed me USD 16 at Mumbai, and it would have been around USD 10 (my guess) in NZ.

Not a bad buy, but not a great Sauvignon Blanc either.

But one has to keep trying, right ?

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
16th October 2011
Mumbai

One comment

  1. kpop

    It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or tips. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I want to read more things about it!

Leave a Reply

