Mud House Hawkes Bay Merlot


Excellent Merlot 2009 wine from Mud House winery in Hawkes Bay, New Zealand.

I recall having tried some Mud House wines in the past (in Singapore), unfortunately I lost my notes on the specific wine I tasted.

This Merlot purchase was a choice I made against stiff Australian competition in an airport duty-free shop. It did not prove to be a bad or random choice – well thought-out I should say !

First of all, I loved the deep crimson red colour of this wine. I can just keep looking at it in a wide-bottomed red wine glass and appreciate its sense of depth that it could potentially offer to the connoisseur of wines.

Secondly, the wine had the nose of red currants, though I could not detect the mocha flavour as per the tasting notes. Red currants is a pleasant and inspiring flavour, if you know what I mean.

Thirdly, this is a spicy wine, with long impact combined with a dark fruit taste, which I really liked. It makes me remember this wine, and that in itself, is characteristic of good wines. You always wish to remember the good ones, don’t you ? Comes in handy for a recommendation !

At the Mud House wine store, this wine costs less than NZD 20 per bottle (less than USD 16). But, I paid USD 22 at the Mumbai International Airport Duty-Free (!) shop.

I have written a number of times about the need to let people enjoy what they wish to drink, free of governmental controls, and that is not happening though we are well into the 21st Century. Why can’t we have the best that the world has to offer, and why can’t the world accept the best that India has to offer ?

Well, philosophical matter as of now. Better enjoy the one single glass of good wine that is available for this evening. Mind you, that glass of good wine costs USD 5 in this case !

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
22nd October 2011
Mumbai

2 comments

  1. Elvis Hobson

    Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful information specially the last part 🙂 I care for such info much. I was seeking this certain info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

Leave a Reply

