Choosing the S-380


You may be wondering, what is S-380 ? Did I mean the A380 Jumbo Jet from Airbus ?

No.

I did some research on buying an advanced Bluray DVD Player, and debated between the normal High Definition Player and the new 3D Player for sometime. Finally, I selected and purchased the Sony S-380 Bluray Player.

Like in the past, there is a process of selection of anything in life, but the most complex thing to buy is electronics, with car being the second. Electronics and Computers drive most people crazy and that is why they just go for reputed brands or make decisions based on a trusted source/hearsay. The rate of change in technology and introduction of new products is so rapid that what we think is the best in its class is no longer the best 3 months from now, thereby making the decision very difficult, time-consuming and rather complex.

In this specific case, I was doing some research on the best buys using consumer research sites, but mostly these came up with models which were not available in India, though the brands (with different models) are available in India. Further complication arises out of the fact that models in the U.S. do not correlate with models available elsewhere, and model numbers are anyway confusing.

While I was doing this bit of research, one of my colleagues mentioned about Sony. I was seeing more of Samsung, Philips, Toshiba and LG in my searches, and less of Sony (don’t know why). My friend also mentioned that I should look at the 3G Bluray DVD Player to go along with a 3D TV, both preferably from Sony.

So, I went to electronic retail stores (Croma, Hypercity, et al) to see the stuff in action and to ask questions. Sony was available and the 3D TV was simply breathtaking – you have to see the TV with 3D goggles of course. I also saw the regular Bluray Player in action from Sony, which was good.

I thought the 3D TV and 3D Bluray Player with the corresponding DVD titles are a combination which I am not ready to consider right now, though it would likely catch on seriously in this cinema and TV crazy country. This stuff is a bit ahead of time and I would rather wait for some stability in technology and availability of more DVD titles before going in for this investment.

So, there you go, I finally picked up the S-380, which is a rather good model. I paid USD 174 for this player which came free with a HDMI cable and 2 free DVD titles. My research shows that without the freebies, you can get this player for less than USD 100 in the U.S. But what can we do ? We have to source what is available locally with local warranty. The inefficiencies inherent in the Indian logistics combined with customs duties plus transportation costs add on……and on…..finally we get a high price. The player I bought was manufactured in Malaysia, why can’t they manufacture in India ?

Well, I can say finally this is an outstanding product, and I recommend this player to all readers. You can see more details on this player (and other Sony players) at this website:

“Sony Bluray Players”

Enjoy your Bluray Movies during this weekend !

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
26th November 2011
Mumbai

23 comments

  1. breaking bad full episode

    Thank you for another informative web site. The place else may I get that type of information written in such a perfect manner? I’ve a undertaking that I am simply now running on, and I have been on the glance out for such information.

  2. Rosetta Stone Spanish

    Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal. I must say you’ve done a very good job with this. In addition, the blog loads very fast for me on Opera. Superb Blog!

  3. Dr.Dre Headphones

    I am typically to running a blog and i actually admire your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your website and maintain checking for brand spanking new information.

  4. GHD Hair

    whoah this weblog is magnificent i like studying your posts. Stay up the great work! You understand, a lot of people are searching around for this info, you can aid them greatly.

  5. GHD Straighteners

    My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different page and thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking over your web page for a second time.

  6. Rosetta Stone Spanish

    Hi everyone, – discovered your current internet site due to pure luck when looking across the net this evening, and pleased that I did! I like the page structure and different shades, but I ought to point out that I’m having problems when it loads. I’m making use of WaMCom 1.1 web browser for mac, and the menu block wouldn’t lineup as it should be. i’m fairly certain I’ve applied the exact same design on a customer’s web site, but the menu seems fine on mine. I imagine the problem is at my end & I suppose it’s about time to update!

  7. Rosetta Stone Language

    The subsequent time I learn a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I imply, I know it was my option to read, but I actually thought youd have something attention-grabbing to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about one thing that you possibly can fix in case you werent too busy in search of attention.

  8. watch baseball online

    Thank you a lot for sharing this with all folks you actually realize what you are speaking approximately! Bookmarked. Please also discuss with my web site =). We will have a hyperlink alternate arrangement between us!

  9. watch sports online

    Hi there, just turned into alert to your blog via Google, and found that it’s really informative. I am gonna be careful for brussels. I will appreciate in the event you continue this in future. Lots of other people might be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  10. Blaine Benet

    Can I just say what a reduction to search out somebody who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know how one can convey an issue to light and make it important. Extra folks need to learn this and understand this facet of the story. I cant imagine youre no more well-liked since you definitely have the gift.

Leave a Reply

