Matrimonial Madness


Reading up the Matrimonial Columns under the Classifieds Section of daily newspapers has long been considered a fun activity, especially in South India. I recall that fad, when people used to joke about these matrimonial advertisements. “The Hindu” newspaper was famous for this widely followed section (and I am sure it is, even today).

I live in Mumbai and do not get “The Hindu” newspaper. The most widely read newspaper in this metro is of course, “The Times of India”, which I read every morning, spending barely 10 minutes on most mornings before I leave for office.

Today, being a Sunday, lent itself to some leisurely browsing of the newspaper, and for the first time I happened to see (!) the “Sunday Times Matrimonials” column, which even carried some article on Indian wedding rituals. It was funny reading that, and one could not miss the fact that rituals are widely different in different regions of this vast country.

Previously, the ads would always be based on castes – the insane division of people according to the castes they belong to, or sometimes on religions. Most people will be looking for brides or bridegrooms belonging to their own castes, which was only understandable in the context of the cultural mores of that time.

But a reading in the current time leads to a completely different interpretation of the market demand. Yes, the castes are there, no doubt. But more space was taken up some unique categories with headlines as follows:

* Doctors
* Engineers
* NRI/Green Card (shrinking category)
* Nepali (people from Nepal, which is an adjacent country)
* MBA/CA
* Bengali (people from the State of West Bengal, not on caste)
* Punjabi (people from the State of Punjab, not on caste)
* Hindu (in general)
* Muslim (in general)
* Christian (in general)
* Caste No Bar (a new one where the advertiser does not care about the caste)
* Cosmopolitan (the most intriguing classification)
* Others (free thinkers, I would guess)

and so on, and so forth.

India is changing, do you agree ?

Surely. People are thinking differently.

If as a people, we can accept our own people irrespective of where they came from, based on the value (not money for Gods’ sake) that each one brings to the table to ensure a lasting partnership, then we would have arrived in the Twenty-First Century.

In any case, it has been interesting spending some time grasping this change, which I seem to have missed till now. I do not know what is the situation of the ads in “The Hindu” in the Southern part of India, or in “Hindustan Times” newspaper in the Northern part of India, but I think we are seeing an increasingly modernistic trend, which can only bode good for India.

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
29th January 2012
Mumbai

10 comments

  1. shower water filter

    I don’t claim to comprehend the key reason why, however I personally failed to hope to truly come across what I wanted. I’d personally want to get my hands on the resources you utilized to reveal this. Having more writers be a part of the discussion is usually a great thing.

  2. Michael N. Groesbeck

    I absolutely love your website.. Very nice colors & theme.
    Did you create this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m hoping to create my own personal
    website and would like to learn where you got this from or just
    what the theme is named. Many thanks!

  3. Emiko Galaviz

    Fantastic web site. Plenty of helpful information here. Iˇ¦m sending it to a few friends ans also sharing in delicious. And obviously, thank you to your effort!

  4. how to speak french youtube

    I am extremely impressed along with your writing talents and also with the structure in your blog.
    Is that this a paid subject matter or did you customize it
    your self? Anyway keep up the excellent high quality writing, it
    is rare to look a nice blog like this one today..

  5. google play quizduell

    This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.

    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great
    post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks!

  6. work at home

    Having read this I thought it was really informative.
    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this article together.
    I once again find myself spending way too much
    time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was
    still worth it!

  7. self employed bad Credit loans

    Nice post. I was checking continuously thius blog and I am impressed!

    Extremely useful information particularly the last part :
    ) I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a very long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

  8. Anonymous

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful
    & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and aid others like
    you aided me.

Leave a Reply

