Semillon Chardonnay Vintage 2010


According to Wikipedia, “Sémillon is a golden-skinned grape used to make dry and sweet white wines, most notably in France and Australia”.

Usually, I pick up the relatively affordable Jacob’s Creek Chardonnay when I arrive at the Mumbai International Airport. I had earlier written about this very good wine which beats all Indian whites hands down any day, and comes at an outstanding price of USD 9.50 per bottle when you purchase two of them, duty-free. If you purchase just one then it would cost USD 11 apiece.

Last weekend, I debated for a couple of minutes before picking up the Jacob’s Creek Semillon Chardonnay at the same price. While I have seen the word semillon before in wine shops before, I have never ventured to pick up a bottle. But this time I thought, why not try, it is from Jacob’s Creek and should be fine.

My hope was not misplaced.

The blend of semillon and chardonnay apparently produces an easily drinkable wine. My wife actually liked this blended wine more than the regular chardonnay. The Jacob’s Creek Semillon Chardonnay is a bright yellow wine (with greenish tinge), with an aroma of citrus fruit delivering a strong acidity. The wine drinks well and has a fairly long finish. It is surely enjoyable on its own, which is the way I like it with white wines. Today, we had roasted papads dressed with mint, coriander, tomatoes and onions, along with this wine and the combination was great. I am not a pairing expert, but am sure that pastas and salads would also work well with this wine.

So, here is another find from Australia. The issue is that you can bring in only two bottles at that price ! Try buying it after duty is paid and one would be poorer by three times that price !!

Enjoy your select wines !

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
7th April 2012
Mumbai

2 comments

  1. The Best Bulk Wholesale

    Hi there, I just need to make you aware that I think your text is actually unique. I would like to view additional content and other subject matter, similar to the one available on this blog site more often. –Sincerely,

  2. What are Settlements

    Nice weblog right here! Additionally your site a lot up fast! What web host are you the usage of? Can I am getting your associate link to your host? I desire my web site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

Leave a Reply

