Tonkatsu Ginza Bairin


You must be wondering what does that mean ?

It is a famous Japanese restaurant chain present in several countries around the world.

Here I am talking about the one at the ION mall at Orchard Road in Singapore.

First, what is Tonkatsu ?

According to Wikipedia, Tonkatsu (pork cutlet),is a Japanese cuisine invented from cutlet. It consists of a breaded, deep-fried pork cutlet one to two centimeters thick and sliced into bite-sized pieces, generally served with shredded cabbage and/or miso soup.

I did not go for the pork, but went for the chicken. The sticky rice with the fried chicken is absolutely delicious and you must try it. First of all, I love the Japanese sticky rice, and the Curry Udon that I have had in the past in Japan always entices me a lot. It felt like almost having a curry dipped rice dish when I tried the Udon in Tokyo. And, it did not have any meat at all !

But the same thing now with chicken is simply outstanding. I am sure that there are actually many Japanese restaurants in Singapore which serve this kind of food. But this one at ION is good and worth trying.

The sticky rice here was not so sticky, it was glutinous all right, but tasted good with the chicken curry. It was served with miso soup and ginger on the rice. Easy to eat, nice when you are slightly hungry and goes well with green tea.

Overall, this restaurant was a new find for me, and I am sure I will visit again during my next trip to Singapore. Remember, one has to queue up in the evenings, but I can tell you it is worth the try. Japanese restaurants take the pain out of ordering by showing colourful pictures of the dishes, so you got to just point and order ! Enjoy the food !!

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
7th April 2012
Mumbai

11 comments

  1. Al Thorndike

    This is the proper blog for anybody who needs to search out out about this topic. You understand so much its nearly laborious to argue with you (not that I really would want…HaHa). You positively put a brand new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Nice stuff, just nice!

  2. Abigail Updike

    It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or advice. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read more things about it!

  3. Tracy G. Groesbeck

    Excellent pieces. Keep writing such kind of info on your site.
    Im really impressed by your site.
    Hi there, You have performed an incredible job. I’ll certainly digg it and in
    my view recommend to my friends. I am confident they will be benefited from this web site.

  4. apple 6 plus case

    Thanks оn ƴoսr marvelous posting! I seriouslƴ enjoyed reading it, you
    will be а ǥreat author.I will always bookmark ƴoսr blog and
    աill ϲome back frοm now on. I want to encourage
    you to continue your greаt job, ɦave a nice morning!

  5. kitchen remodel

    Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break.

    I enjoy the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, very good site!

  6. Ivan

    Hey I am so excited I found your web site, I really found you by mistake, while I was browsing on Aol for something else, Anyhow I am
    here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a marvelous post and
    a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment
    but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time
    I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the superb jo.

  7. jake burgess

    I have a wordpress blog now, but I can’t figure out how to get readers into there! I have been using myspace and it’s been great, subscriptions like crazy, but a lot of them don’t have wordpress…so no leads there. Besides, I am posting the same info to both, so it’s not much of a point of them getting one. How can I increase my wordpress readership? I already utilize tags, but I still only got about 89 views in two weeks. . . . Thanks in advance–serious answers only, please!.

Leave a Reply

