Fratelli Sauvignon Blanc


Earlier I had written about the Fratelli wines in my Blog (please look under “Wines” Category).

The Fratelli Chenin Blanc is a decent white, but I made a mistake with their Sauvignon Blanc. I banned their reds after a bad experience with the Fratelli Classic Red. But recently while shopping for wines, I thought their whites cannot be bad after my good experience with their Chenin Blanc.

Again, a dud white they have in their Sauvignon Blanc. It was so acidic and pungent, that my spouse questioned my wine selection credentials.

According to published information, this Fratelli Sauvignon Blanc has……”low pH, high acidity and touch of residual sugar…..all so perfectly balanced and elegant in structure……….it is so emphatically varietal, yet subtle in its complex fusion of melon rind, lime, grapefruit and dry grassy/herbaceous flavours, that you’re left entirely satisfied and wanting”.

I do not believe in that stuff described above. What I found was a wine so acidic with a kind of extremely sour taste and lasting bitter after taste, that I could not convince anyone to even take a glass. I could not finish the bottle myself ! Just goes to describe the apathy of the winemaker who has surely not crafted a wine that would stand the test of time and taste. This wine is sure to damage the Fratelli brand if wine connoisseurs actually conduct a tasting test.

I am not recommending any wine from Fratelli for the time being (except their Chenin Blanc), till I see evidence of their commitment to produce better quality wines. It is critical to keep Indian wine brands flying high and hold their own like Sula has achieved in some international markets. I would suggest that Fratelli conduct blind tests to establish the ranking of their wines vis-a-vis other Indian wines.

Better avoided !

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan

6th May 2012

Mumbai

Leave a Reply

