Impressive Indigo Performance


I flew Indigo Airlines recently (within India).

Normally, I use Jet Airways, which is a pretty good airline with good service. But they had long been having issues in on-time departure, despite being the biggest airline of India.

I believe an airline need to depart on time, irrespective of any number of challenges, and show to customers that the airline means business. For Jet Airways, it is all the more important, as most of its customers are repeat business customers. And, it is the most popular airline in India by any measure.

The only thing I don’t like about Jet Airways is its timeliness in departure and landing. I can only speak from my own experience, and I have often heard the same story from other business friends. But we suffer the airlines, as it has probably the best network and delivers good service on board.

The Indigo experience (this is only the second time I have flown with Indigo) has been positively good on one key metric – their consistent on-time performance. I believe that is a critical parameter for every passenger and more so, for business passengers who have timelines to meet at the destination city.

And, Indigo did not disappoint me – I was looking for some deficiency but there was none. They are a low-cost airline and do not serve free food and drinks, and you have to pay for that. But, they departed on time and arrived back earlier than scheduled time at Mumbai. I thought that kind of performance deserves kudos, especially at very busy airports like Mumbai and that too, during the monsoon rainy season like now.

One thing therefore is clear – the market leader can yet learn from upstarts like Indigo who have clearly established a critical and very important “metric” leadership. I also noticed that the aircraft were clean and the air hostesses were no less professional. The turnaround time of the plane was probably much faster than other airlines, because the air hostesses help clean the aircraft when they carefully come around to collect all the rubbish.

So, operational excellence can be achieved in one or two key customer-oriented metrics which help draw repeat business from customers. I saw that the mix is changing – more business customers (though not more than 30 to 40%) seem to be using Indigo as they must have learnt about this key performance parameter of Indigo.

Cheers to Indigo

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
Mumbai
7th July 2012

5 comments

  1. buying clothing wholesale

    Hiya, I’m really glad I’ve found this info. Nowadays bloggers publish just about gossips and net and this is really frustrating. A good web site with interesting content, this is what I need. Thank you for keeping this web-site, I will be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can not find it.

  2. go to my site

    Hey very cool web site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionallyI’m happy to search out numerous helpful information right here in the publish, we want develop extra techniques on this regard, thanks for sharing.

  3. christ95y.wordpress.com

    I constantly spent my half an hour to read this blog’s articles everyday along with a mug of
    coffee.

Leave a Reply

