Finally bought it !


After quite a bit of research, I finally bought a Lenovo Thinkpad X230. I had earlier written a post about shopping for a laptop, which has never been an easy decision – see “Shopping for a Laptop”

I had to make some compromises, due to couple of reasons: (1) I wanted to buy the laptop online preferably from the original manufacturer directly, which restricted my choices ; and, (2) the configuration that I had earlier decided was not available in the budget I had planned.

Nevertheless, I got a laptop delivered to me which met my major requirements for speed and portability. The configuration that I ordered has the following configuration for X230:

i5 Third-Generation Intel Processor capable of turbo-boost up to 3.30 GHz (instead of i7)
8 MB DDR3 RAM operating at 1600 MHz
500 GB HD spinning at 7200 RPM (instead of 750 GB)
Intel HD 4000 Graphics with 1 GB Memory (instead of nVIDIA Graphics Card with 1 GB Memory)
1600 x 900 14″ HD+ Display (1368 x 720 12.5″ Premium HD Display)
2 x USB 3.0 and 1 x USB 2.0 Ports (instead of 2 x USB 3.0 and 2 x USB 2.0 Ports)
VGA Port (instead of VGA and HDMI Ports)
Fingerprint reader
4-in-1 Card Reader
Back-lit Keyboard
Expanded 9-cell Li-Ion Battery (expected time on battery around 8 to 9 hours)
Windows 8
2-Year Global Warranty

The above configuration worked out at a price slightly less than USD 1,000.

So far, I am OK with the laptop, having used it only for a week or so. The key advantage in the X230 laptop is its weight – less than 4 lbs or less than 2 KGs. I will need to measure the exact weight, but it feels really light.

I will write about Windows 8 and my views on its ease of use (or otherwise) in an upcoming post.

You might ask me why I selected Lenovo over my previous favourite, ASUS, or even HP.

The answer lies in the fact that ASUS was not easily configurable online, even their U.S. website was not user friendly. Their many models available via the AMAZON site were not modifiable to meet my requirements – one has to just order the configurations available as offered at AMAZON.

I thought HP has made some quantum leap in the way they designed their laptops and sell it – yes, I found that they sell online now. However, I again they have to go a long way before they can compete with the likes of DELL.

Lenovo offered an online ordering system not unlike that of DELL and moreover, offered a configuration and model choice more suited to my needs. I did not wish to buy DELL this time around.

So, there we go……..a new laptop finally !

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
15th December 2012
Mumbai

One comment

  1. Goliath Developer

    Hello There. I found your weblog the use of msn. That is a really smartly written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read extra of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

Leave a Reply

