Apple iPhone 5 ?!


I wanted to say that I became “a proud owner of iPhone 5”, but I am not going to state my ownership in that fashion.

Dissonance kicked in from day #2 of possession of a brand new iPhone 5. Which was surprising indeed, as I am familiar with Apple iOS, having used the iPAD and the iMAC earlier. And, my wife uses the iPhone 4S, so I have tried that as well a few times.

As I analyzed the reasons for my dissonance, two key factors emerged:

1. My intense use of the Android-based HTC Desire HD phone for nearly 2.5 years (till now), which made me a satisfied user having given me the flexibility to play around with what is essentially a customizable phone operating system and a world of free apps (though the HTC Desire HD is not upgradeable to Android 4.X.X) ;

2. The performance of the battery in the Apple iPhone 5 was simply pathetic – it does not even last a full 8 hours of use. Even worse than the Desire HD which has a larger screen than the iPhone 5. Even though the battery size of 1,400 mAH in the iPhone 5 is larger than the 1,100 mAH on the Desire HD.

Don’t get me completely wrong. The iPhone 5 is an excellent product otherwise. It is engineered well and manufactured well. There is no cheap “plasticky” quality in the iPhone 4, though it is thinner than the more solid-feeling iPhone 4S.

I am, of course, going to continue using the iPhone 5, and I have installed a number of new apps over the last few days. I will write about the apps I have selected in the near future. However, I have to state here that Apple has missed out on a great marketing opportunity presented by the market itself which was in love with Apple products and iPhone in particular, and grossly underestimated the power of the Android O.S. which the Apple executives pooh-poohed on several occasions. And, Apple also underestimated the juggernaut of Samsung.

Given all the above, it would have been better to wait for the Samsung Galaxy 4, which has just been launched. But then, there is always the next time around.

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
16th Mar 2013

Leave a Reply

