Relaxed Company with Laughter


Relaxation and Laughter are two key things in life that most of us miss.

It is difficult to relax in this hyper-competitive world.

Things move so fast, people are aggressive, situations become challenging, customers are demanding, economies are rapidly transforming, personal lives have become more and more complex, and so on and so forth.

So, one’s mind is so pre-occupied. Sometimes, I find it difficult to listen to someone unless I concentrate intensely – not an unusual problem. This is because the mind is distracted into several other voices hounding one, all at the same time, demanding our attention.

How does one deal with such a situation ?

One thing I find very useful is to follow the Japanese.

You may wonder why. How is Japanese relevant to this topic ?

Very relevant, it turns out. May be I am not the first person to discover this linkage between mind relaxation and the Japanese way of life. However, I have maintained this idea ever since I met my first Japanese boss in the mid nineties.

The Japanese do one thing at a time, and they do it exceedingly well. They will surely not be able to do multiple things at the same time, and then end up doing all of them badly. The secret of their success is their extreme focus and concentration to get one thing executed very well.

I am yet to find another nationality who has that kind of devotion to a perfect execution.

And when one has that kind of intensity and executes so well, then the mind is free to relax after such an execution. It has to, so that it can get ready for the next intense execution of a job. Think about it for a moment, and you will see what I mean here. Between bouts of perfect execution, you can train your mind to relax. This is a much better scenario than the one I described above, where the mind is challenged by multiple tasks simultaneously, and then you give a slice of your mind all at the same time to each one of these tasks, degrading effective execution of all the tasks.

Interesting, isn’t it ?

I can go on writing about this topic, because I have observed the Japanese in close quarters and learnt the secret of their success in whatever endeavour they undertake.

The other aspect of relaxation is laughter.

When you are in the midst of close friends and engage in good-natured banter, then you will see that your mind is gradually relaxing itself. Laughter is a great medicine as well – it calms your nerves and destresses your facial muscles. You kind of get a feeling of goodness, with good harmones flooding all over you. I always feel very good when I am cracking a joke and making people laugh, and when I laugh at myself for my silly mistakes and interpretations.

Laughter is a critical part of the mind relaxation exercise that we all should engage in.

All told, have a relaxed company with good laughter, and that would make a big difference to your mental well-being.

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
15th Sep 2013

One comment

  1. デジカメ

    Hey! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I really enjoy reading your articles. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same subjects? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

