Scary Upgrade


When dealing with electronic gadgets, I have had my share of surprises and scares.

Mobile Phones and Laptops are always tricky, when it comes to software updates or operating system upgrades. Long time ago, I had written about my Apple iMAC problems, and other posts pertaining to laptops, etc.,

On 18th September, Apple released its much awaited iOS 7 operating system. I have been watching the news closely, and decided to upgrade the O.S. on my Apple iPhone 5 to iOS 7 on 19th late evening, almost 10 PM or so.

I thought that it would be a smooth experience, given the reputation of Apple. It was, for most part of the process. However, my iPhone did not ask permission before the installation, and it rebooted probably after waiting for some time. I had ignored the phone doing some other chores around the house.

OK, so far no problem. But I made couple of mistakes – one is, I did not back up the iPhone to my laptop, as I do once in a while. I had not configured the iCloud, which would have been painless, in retrospect. Secondly, I forgot the passcode. It is strange, but when the phone asked for it after rebooting with the new iOS 7, I made multiple errors, just on one character, and the phone got disabled.

DISABLED ! I could not believe that – I looked at the time, it was almost 11 PM on Thursday night.

I tried to dial the emergency phone which is shown just above the passcode box on the iPhone. No luck. Why do they call it emergency phone, when it is useless – this beats me.

I got a bit agitated. I went to the web and searched for solutions. I did find certain advice on the web and in the Apple forums, but my mistake was not known to me till I keyed in the correct passcode later on.

What shocked me was the “disabled” message on the screen of the phone, instead of highlighting that I had keyed in the passcodes mistakenly multiple times. I informed a couple of close friends that I will not be accessible on my regular cell phone number, and brooded over the next course of action.

Suddenly, I realized that there could be a problem with the passcode – I don’t know why and how. I carefully rebooted the iPhone. Then I waited for some time and steadied myself. Carefully, I entered the passcode (the one provided by the IBM Traveller software), and this time there was success to be had !

I went inside the iPhone, and to my big relief all my data was there, unaffected.

So, one lesson I learnt is this – never go away from your mobile phone or laptop when it is updating itself. Never get distracted. And, all the time, be careful about your passwords. Repeated mistakes will be punished.

Enjoy your gadgets and the upgraded iOS 7 (Nothing great really !).

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
21st Sept 2013

Leave a Reply

