Banks and Customer-Friendliness


I recently had this experience in Singapore when visiting a few banks.

I went to open a savings bank account for my son at Bank #1 (a local bank), which directed me to Bank #2 (a part of Bank #1 but still maintaining a distinct identity) since my son was less than 16 years old. Bank #1 can only open accounts for folks who are 16 and above. So, I proceeded to a nearby branch of Bank #2 on a Saturday morning and as expected, it was overcrowded. I had to wait for some 20 minutes before I got served by an officer. I eventually opened the account, but the process was slow and it took another 25 minutes of processing. With just 3 counters and some 20 people waiting, I felt that they would do better to open a separate counter for new accounts opening instead of treating new accounts as just another transaction. Getting a new customer should, in any case, be the most important activity for a bank branch, and so it should deserve special attention and service.

At the end of this experience, I still felt all right since my purpose was served, and the officer was very helpful. She gave explanations to all our queries and was painstakingly detailed in completing the activity.

Then, I went to Bank #3 (a MNC bank) for carrying out some action pertaining to my existing account. There was no “service” mentality at the point of customer interface, there was a questioning look at the entry point which put me off. The lady at the entry point failed to understand my “complex” need and referred my case to another guy who was stern-looking and definitely not customer friendly at all. He looked up and down at me, and asked for identification. I had to raise my voice a bit to get him to move. He could not resolve the matter and referred my case to an officer, which they should have done for any priority banking customer rightaway.

In both Banks #2 and #3, there were stern-looking security guards at the entrance, watching over everybody who comes into the bank. In a place like Singapore, this aspect should have been subtle, rather than in the face. In 99% of the cases, the person who comes into the bank is an existing customer, and why would the bank want to put him or her off ?

And, what about rendering service with a smile ? Completely out of the question. Service appears to be delivered with a grudge with in-built suspicion. Definitely not with a smile.

Welcome to the new world of banking.

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
7th December 2013

Leave a Reply

