Napa Angel


I had a chance to try out the Napa Angel Cabernet Sauvignon 2007 by Montes.

I have previously enjoyed Montes Alpha wines from Chile, known for their great range of Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot. It has been a long while though, and when I saw the Montes name on the Napa Angel bottle, I was enthused.

My confidence was not belied.

Napa Angel Cabernet Sauvignon is an excellent cabernet from Napa Valley.

It has a deep rich red colour, and is a rather full-bodied wine with intense flavours. It has a smooth and long finish. The French oak barrels have had an intense effect in creating the complexity which only more expensive wines would usually possess. One can really enjoy this wine right now (after decanting) or cellar it for a few years for a great wine.

I enjoyed the wine as it was, with some cheddar cheese and pitted black olives. The wine went well with the cheese and olive combination.

After some fairly long time, I found a new Cabernet Sauvignon, but I also know that I cannot find this very good wine on Singapore supermarket shelves. I have never seen it anyway so far.

Strongly recommended.

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
6th April 2014

Leave a Reply

