XANADU: Sauvignon Blanc Semillon 2012


This is an impressive white from Margaret River area of Western Australia.

This Sauvignon Blanc Semillon belongs to the new generation of wines from the XANADU Winery, called the “NEXT of KIN”.

I have not seen many such whites with a very crisp finish. My wife really liked this wine better than the Marlborough Chardonnay, even though my opinion is divided.

It has always been hard for me to determine the true bouquet of whites, while I am pretty decent with the reds. So, I tend to concentrate on the palate, and check if I can determine some of the fruits which are predominant in the wine.

In this case of Sauvignon Blanc Semillon, I could see that it is a complex fruity wine, with a strong citrus impact. I toughed it out on the passion fruit character that was mentioned in the wine description – I was sure something close to that was there. One thing was sure – whether it was one or multiple such sensations, this wine was a very good choice on its own, without any food pairing necessary.

Let us study its colour, another important wine characteristic. It had a bright, shiny, green colour, highlighted by the green wine bottle, and had that fruitiness displayed in its colour itself.

Overall, this is a very good wine which can be relished anytime. For a price of less than SGD 20, it is a steal. I hope they keep its price at this range.

Enjoy your wine responsibly, and do not drive after drinking.

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
19th April 2014

One comment

  1. Matthew Rondeau

    After research just a few of the blog posts in your website now, and I really like your approach of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site record and might be checking again soon. Pls check out my website as effectively and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

