Pearly Bay Chenin Blanc Chardonnay


Western Cape ?

I looked up at the map and found it in South Africa !

While I have had the pleasure of enjoying few South African wines in the past, I have not had the intention to explore the geography of South Africa.

Well exotic location I should say !

I chanced upon Pearly Bay at the Fairprice Finest Supermarket recently, and decided to give it a try thought there were several competing white wines at the price I was looking at. I typically tend to buy the wines on promotion, if they are apparently look and feel good – I cannot say much, one should have a gut feel for these kinds of stuff !!!

I was not wrong in selecting Pearly Bay – the wine I picked up was the 60% Chenin Blanc, 40% Chardonnay wine of the 2013 vintage.

This wine was intensely coloured, fruity white wine with floral and citrus aromas. It has a long, sweet finish on the palate, with a kind of slight acidity which keeps your senses wide awake. A kind of wine that you are unlikely to forget. And, a kind of wine that you would buy again.

A good choice for a white wine from a reputed vineyard from the Western Cape of South Africa (the vineyard is called KWV). They have a full range of wines, but I saw only the white. May be the reds are equally good as well.

There is no dearth of good and inexpensive wines out there – one has to just look hard. There are several less well known vineyards making great wines, one has to keep looking.

Enjoy your wines responsibly.

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
17th May 2014

Leave a Reply

