Fruits Shopping


Since I take mostly fruits every morning, I spend quite some time once every fortnight shopping for a variety of fruits. It is a personal pleasure, and adds to the de-stressing effects of fruits.

You may ask why. Fruits provide a kind of pleasure other types of foods do not provide. They provide a multi-sensory experience, including colour, fragrance, taste and fulfillment; apart from very less calories and high level of nutrients.

But the most important part of the fruits experience is two-fold: one is the experience of shopping and the other is the cutting of fruits. I enjoy shopping around with an exclusive focus: just fruits ! It is unlike other shopping trips. A single-minded focus to investigate the different varieties of fruits available, try almost every one of them, and spend time in the whole process. It takes me close to 45 minutes or sometimes even more, to complete my fruits shopping.

The more interesting part, however, is the cutting of fruits (which I have mentioned in one of my earlier posts on de-stressing). It is quite an art, involves concentration, and a selection of fruits which would fill a plate with differing impact. I cut slowly, to ensure I get the right kind of pieces (of apples, pears, kiwis, strawberries, guavas, plums, nectarines, apricots, et al), and once I am satisfied with the look and the fullness of the plate of fruits, I sprinkle cinnamon powder on it, and add some nuts such as almonds, pistachios and walnuts. I further add some sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds. Overall, it usually looks good and “full” for the morning breakfast (almost every day except when I travel). This cutting and dressing exercise takes some 20 – 25 minutes and is an excellent way to de-stress without thinking of anything else. Just the fruits.

I believe this fruits breakfast is healthy and wholesome though many folks disagree that there are no real carbohydrates. I realize that and sometimes I take half the quantity of fruits and supplement the same with a toast of multi-grain brown bread (toasted in olive oil). I guess this combination is good for almost everyone.

So, overall, the fruits shopping and cutting combine together to give an excellent de-stressing experience to me. And, I have been following this process wherever I lived and it has worked well for me. I suggest this to some of my friends but they usually laugh it off as a fad, and continue with their rather heavy breakfast (in Singapore, that usually includes rice in the morning).

Well, no gain without pain. Some work is required to achieve less stress and a better breakfast !

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
30th August 2014

Leave a Reply

