Beyerskloof Pinotage 2013


Complex, well-structured, elegant and soft Pinotage.

You got all of that in Beyerskloof from South Africa.

My daughter presented this Pinotage wine recently to me.

It took me some time to figure out the complexity of this rather sophisticated wine. We rarely get to see such wines in Singapore on the supermarket shelves. May be these are available in the specialized wine stores around the island. I have not yet checked out.

The colour of this wine is an inviting dark ruby red. I am always enchanted with wines which do not allow an inkling of light through them when held up to the yellow lamp. It is so thick (in my opinion), that it cannot but be a solid good wine ! Most of the times such hunches turn out to be correct !!

I like fruity wines, and this wine a lot of fruit flavours – I could detect plum for sure. Good stuff with almost a perfect finish……..I got to like this wine over a few days, though I should have finished it in 2 or at the most 3 days.

I believe this is an excellent Pinotage which is worth further exploration. I am recommending this wine to folks who like Pinotage and its attendant complexity.

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
14th September 2014

Leave a Reply

