1870 Penuelas Block


New discovery of an elegant Sauvignon Blanc from Chile !

I was roaming around the wine shelves at a leading supermarket last weekend – I do that atleast twice a month. And this time around, I chanced upon some good ones. I selected one red and two whites, and will write about the other two wines as we go along.

This specific one, the 1870 Penuelas Block Sauvignon Blanc from the 2010 vintage, was a good choice. It was refreshing and fruity. My “vivino” app on the iPhone captured the picture of the label and gave me accurate description of the wine. Then it asked me to rate the wine, and I gave this wine a rating of 4 out of 5.

1870 stands for the year when the Errazuriz winery was established in the Casablanca Valley of Chile.

Chilean wines in general are good. I had some issue with one of the Chilean wines and I have published a not so generous blog post recently.

But the 1870 Sauvignon Blanc was so crisp with the acidity which can leave a long finish that I really started liking this wine. It is a good choice to drink on its own (which is what I did), but the wine can be paired with salads as well.

This wine was priced slightly above my benchmark price range, but I still decided to buy and try it out. Occasionally, I take a chance and this attempt turned out well.

Chile has now emerged as the top ranked wine producing country in my list, followed by South Africa. Australia and New Zealand have priced themselves out, and no question of even looking at the price tags of the French wines.

Well, well, wine drinking is a cultivated habit and perceptions are always right in this field.

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan
26th October 2014

One comment

  1. Daelus

    Hi Vijay!

    Thanks for the great review on this wine.
    Could you share with me where you managed to find this bottle?
    I have been looking for this wine in supermarkets for a while now but am still not having any luck.
    This is my girlfriend’s favourite bottle and I am trying to get my hands on one 🙂

    Thanks a lot for your help!

    Regards,
    Daelus

Leave a Reply

