Wolf Blass Yellow Label Chardonnay 2012


Wow, what a smooth texture this Chardonnay has !

I had actually moved away from Australian wines (after drinking the good ones from Down Under for more than a decade) towards more new selections from Chile, South Africa, and New Zealand. I found that Australian wines are overpriced not just in Singapore but across South East Asia. So, I would normally suggest a good Chilean wine at half to two-thirds the price to my friends.

I chanced upon this Wolf Blass Chardonnay recently at what I thought was a reasonable price and so picked it up (disclosure: I already knew that this is a good wine !). As per my oft-stated policy in this blog, I am a “value-conscious” wine drinker and will never splurge money on the most vaunted wine labels just for the sake of it. So, I am always cautious in looking for value deals at prices which I think are reasonable.

If you want to get the fruity aromas from South Australia, it is hard to beat Wolf Blass, and this Chardonnay just proves that hypothesis. I loved the aromas – sometimes it is hard to figure out which fruits but I could decipher the peach aroma for sure ! Lovely to drink chilled on its own, but great with pastas.

Last evening, my wife made a unique dish – roasted marinated vegetables (eggplants, portobello mushrooms, bell peppers) with herb focaccia bread topped with hummus and hot tabasco sauce – that went down well with this Chardonnay !

I love the creaminess of this wine, and so going to get one more bottle – hopefully at the same sale price !!

Enjoy the wine (and, let me tell you, the wine stimulates my thinking and makes me write a better blog post !!!).

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan

18th January 2015

Leave a Reply

