Two Hitchcock Weekends


After seeing Brian De Palma movies, and reading about the influence of Alfred Hitchcock on Brian De Palma, I persuaded myself to see a few of the Hitchcock movies. Like most of us, I had seen the Psycho movie by Hitchcock, and so I knew I was entering the crime thriller genre emphatically with Hitchcock movies. The only major difference with Hitchcock was his stylish and substantive approach to movie-making unlike many of the current day directors. He also had a way with the movie camera which remains unmatched till today – the camera takes you through the scenes and you could feel that you are almost there at the scene.

I went about some research on Hitchcock movies and selected the following five (though in a rather haphazard manner – after selecting one, I switched it with something else as I got fascinated with that particular storyline for example). Take a look at the list below:

  1. North by Northwest
  2. Vertigo
  3. Strangers on a Train
  4. Frenzy
  5. Notorious

I have not stopped seeing Hitchcock movies but took a logical break now, having seen some of his best work in the above movies.

I am not going to review each one of the above movies. These are classics in their own right. Many of you might have seen some of these or all of these movies. They are all wonderful movies, providing a visual experience unmatched in today’s movies.

While I did not see the thrill of Psycho in any of the above movies, I enjoyed the storyline in each one of them. I am fascinated by the black and white movies of 1930s and 1940s. They are an amazing treat when the technology was far inferior than it is today, and obviously required a huge amount of talent, skill and concentration.

Out of the above five movies, I would rank Vertigo (because of the suspense) and North by Northwest as the best. However, I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed all these movies, and I am planning to see few more of the Hitchcock movies in the near future. It is a wonderful experience, I am not able to explain why I missed out on these classics for so long !

Look up these movies and enjoy your weekend evenings.

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan

19th July 2015

Leave a Reply

