Vina Maipo Cabernet Sauvignon 2015


I had tried out the Vina Maipo wines from Chile, and have written about them in a previous post in November 2013. Generally good wines, I would say. However, I did not get a chance to try again till very recently.

There was an offer in a local supermarket for two of the wines from the Vina Maipo winery in Chile – it was offered at around SGD 28 for two bottles with a discount of SGD 25 from the original price. While the discount may mean nothing big, given the propensity of the local retail chains to jack up list prices and attempt to move stocks only when there is some issue (financial or otherwise), I thought it was probably the biggest discount I have seen (almost 50% off) in recent times. So, it did not take much time for me to make up my mind.

Of course, the Vina Maipo wines are good, so paying SGD 14 on the average for a bottle is very decent and worth the wine. While the Sauvignon Blanc was crisp and good, I chose to write now about the Cab Sauvignon because its complexity impressed me a lot. I bought this red wine from Vina Maipo’s Mi Pueblo range of wines, which are known for “easy to drink…….fruity wines”.

The 2015 Cab Sauvignon that I purchased was outstanding. Fruity with compex aromas of berries and chocolate……lingering for quite some time. I enjoyed this wine along with chicken wraps (spicy) on one evening, and with pasta on another evening. It was delicious, with a smooth finish that I always have liked in sophisticated wines. This wine is intensely dark, with hardly any light passing through, and was sticking to the wine glass – both indications of a high quality wine.

It is always difficult to rate a complex wine. I try to see the overall experience, and the relish of my companion. My food pairing does not always work, so sometimes it is just the wine which is doing the talking ! I liked the Mi Pueblo Cab Sauvignon, and have no hesitation to state here that I will go for it again the next time I see it on the supermarket shelves.

Very good wine, and helps with your moods as well ๐Ÿ™‚

Of course, my standard advice stands – drink in moderation, one glass of wine (150 ml) should be just fine for an evening. Don’t attempt to finish the bottle, and share the wine with someone else !

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan

21st February 2016

Leave a Reply

