Diamond Days Sauvignon Blanc 2015


Good crisp Sauvignon Blanc from Marlborough, New Zealand.

Whenever I see wines from Marlborough region of the South Island of NZ, I like to buy ! Yes, having established its reputation as the country’s premium quality wine producing region, the consistency in the wines from Marlborough has been outstanding. Never have I gone wrong in selecting wines from Marlborough or Hawke’s Bay.

I was not disappointed with the Diamond Days wine. It may not be as great as Cloudy Bay, but at less than half the price, I would say it is a steal. It was also 20% cheaper than the Tahuna Savignon Blanc, which I have tried several times before. I am actually a fan of Tahuna wines, but did not know that Diamond Days wines belong to Tahuna as well.

The Diamond Days Sauvignon Blanc is good to drink from the word go – simply as an aperitif. A glass of crisp white like this makes an evening feel good. The wine has a clear hue with strong flavours of tropical fruits. It is not a complicated wine, anyone can straightaway enjoy the wine. I drank the wine young from its 2015 vintage, and paid SGD 19+ which I thought was reasonable. The other Tahuna wines cost SGD 24 and above (usually SGD 28), and Cloudy Bay costs SGD 37 for the 2015 vintage and SGD 49 for the previous good vintages.

I would say New Zealand is gaining currency amongst serious wine drinkers. The whites from NZ come in sophisticated versions with world-beating ranking, or in a simplistic manner like the Diamond Days. I like both versions depending on the occasion. The Pinot Noirs from NZ are also fantastic.

Well, drink responsibly, and don’t drink and drive !

Caution: some of my friends have reverted to me that they are somewhat influenced by what I write or suggest as good wines to drink. This blog is for my personal enjoyment and not for conducting promotional campaigns. In fact, my wine purchases (generally once every 10 days) are random, and I select my wines based on their value, and not brand names. Further, I am not recommending wine drinking to anyone. You can ignore all my wine blog posts and read the others !

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan

28th February 2016

 

 

Leave a Reply

