Overstone Sauvignon Blanc 2015


Fabulous! One of the best Sauvignon Blancs that have come out of the Marlborough region of New Zealand. I enjoyed every bit of this outstanding wine, and blame myself for not discovering such a great wine. But never mind, this wine is available in Singapore, and so I am going for more very soon.

This wine has an unmistakeable “zingy” start and finish which is very refreshing without having a pungent impact on the palate. Its light acidity can be discerned, however the fruits make their continuous impact while drinking. Great tropical flavours lend ripeness to the wine and it is rather pleasant to drink this wine as an aperitif. No real food pairing is required. My wife and I enjoyed the wine on several occasions, and my wife concluded that it was one of the best she has had.

In a nutshell, the Overstone Sauvignon Blanc is an excellent wine, with a smooth zinginess that you will relish, a great aftertaste on the palate, and a fruity flavour dominated by the likes of passionfruit and apricots. You cannot go wrong with this wine which fits in with the summer choices that one might have.

Please do your own wine research, and do not drink and drive. Act responsibly. Every life matters. I have stopped drinking wines in restaurants unless I have a friend to drop me off or I have decided to take a taxi beforehand. Otherwise, the best place for wine drinking still remains the home – the best of all. And, I have also learnt to stop with two glasses, each 150 ml (one-fifth of a bottle of wine which has 750 ml).

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan

14th August 2016

Leave a Reply

