Healthy Eating for Oneself


Even if I eat a little food, I feel full in the stomach. Such is the situation for several years now. I did food analysis, consulted doctors, talked to friends, researched on the internet, and what not. No use. The moment I complete even a small meal, I felt like bloated. This was lousy feeling to say the least.

However, I noticed one thing. If I just eat cooked vegetables (without rice), I felt good and not so full. Increasingly, I went for baby kai lan, greens, bean sprouts, broccoli, cauliflower, some potato, bitter gourd, etc., with some little rice topped with chicken gravy. It resulted in good feeling after the meal. I strongly believe that “good feeling” is a critical ingredient for success in everything one does, so I shifted my food habits.

In case I went to an Indian restaurant (as against the Chinese food described above), I prefer to eat dosas – such as plain dosas or masala dosas. The lunch should never consist of heavy Indian meal with rice and a variety of other stuff. If I went to an Italian restaurant, I take some penne pasta with chicken (since there is not much choice for an anti-carb person).

In between meals, I take some nuts (almonds, cashews, walnuts, pistachios) and tea. The tea is a good anti-oxidant. Plant nuts are excellent for general good health. Sometimes, I take yoghurt with fruits on top of it (like grapes, blueberries, et al). Again, this is a wonderful component in one’s food composition.

In all of the above, I tried to eliminate white rice as much as possible. The past couple of weeks of “no rice” has produced excellent body response to my dietary changes. I have been challenged many a time by folks at home as to my antipathy towards taking rice, and it has been difficult to explain matters of health to regular family folks who do not subscribe to dietary restrictions or changes which they think are weird to start with.

However, if you overcome these challenges and adopt a “no rice” food regimen, I guarantee that you would see the improvement in just a few days. You would feel “light”, energetic, active, and cheerful. I am not joking, just try it for a week and then tell me if I am correct. I know for sure that Indians cannot stay away from rice for too long. But, I am determined to carry on with my new food regimen for as long as possible despite objections from family members who think I am crazy.

At the end of the day, I feel good with myself, and that, I believe is very important. I don’t wish to feel bloated and heavy. I want to feel good. I wish to feel active and energetic all the time. I don’t want to fade out however, so I watch my movements carefully and keep myself hydrated and ingested with some nuts or fruits most of the time.

I am observing the results, and will wait for a month before declaring success.

Worth trying out for all of us, I guess.

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan

9th October 2016

Leave a Reply

