Rawson’s Retreat Chardonnay 2015


Excellent fruity wine from South Eastern Australia, so good that you don’t know when you are on your second glass.

A crispy wine with fulsome fruity flavours on the nose and the palate, I enjoyed it on its own – it is simply a good wine but costs 2.5 times as much as it does in Australia, even on a promotional price offer. But then, don’t look at the price (it costs SGD 19 on promotion in Singapore and around AUD 8 in Australia). I can easily say that this wine compares well with slightly more expensive Chardonnays (greater than SGD 22) any time, and will now become my first choice if available at SGD 19 or less. I get 8% discount for being member of the Fairprice Wine Club, and this discount also applies to promotional offers, which is really a good thing for me!

This wine strongly displays Citrus, Melon and Peach flavours. The complexity of the wine probably arises from its oak maturation. Most high-priced Chardonnays are complex, and this wine is no exception even at its moderate price. It took me sometime to decipher its nose and palate, and revel in its complexity, but at the end I was persuaded to go for a second glass. I tested out this wine with my wife, and she liked it almost instantaneously. She is fond of white wines, and is partial towards fruity Chardonnays, and I was not surprised when she warmed up to what was an excellent choice for an evening rendezvous.

The Rawson’s Retreat Chardonnay is a vibrant, crisp and fresh wine that one can enjoy on its own, without any food pairing. I liked it so much that I am going to get another bottle as I believe a good wine should lift our senses and make us admire the beauty of nature and its fruits. This wine made my evening.

Enjoy your wines and act responsibly. Do not drink and drive.

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan

6th November 2016

 

Leave a Reply

