2016 Last Post -“Nederburg: The Winemaster’s Pinotage”


Today is 31st December 2016 – the last day of 2016, the last weekend of the last month of 2016 – and the New Year’s Eve is not far off as I type this blog post. It is 12:20 PM in Singapore, lunch time now. I am nursing a chardonnay (sorry folks!) as I know I cannot drink this evening. Why is that, you may ask. Because I am going to drive to a party some 20 KMs away which is indeed a long distance in Singapore ! And, the police are very vigilant about drunk drivers – the punishment is jail, my friends. I am not going to touch any drink along with my dinner this evening. Just enjoy the evening get-together, and get back home safely.

However, I can write about wines, right?

This post is about a fabulous South African wine – Nederburg Pinotage 2014 (Winemasters Reserve). Reasonably priced, this is a great wine for connoisseurs of pinot noir, that ever so precariously balanced wine, which is unique in almost every aspect.

I loved this wine – it is a medium-bodied red, with excellent fruit flavours and a great after-taste. It is dark ruby red in colour, it is silky and crisp – a great addition to any cellar. I like this wine very much, and was tempted to go in for a second bottle, and had to restrain myself.

Well, wines are always good, and carefully chosen reds are especially very good. I would categorize this wine as very good. Try it and you won’t be disappointed.

Well, now we come to the end of 2016 year. It has been an eventful year, with several surprising things happening around the world. It was not a “bad” year, as some people tend to characterize it. I think it was a decent year, given the changes happening around the world. These changes are to be expected.

In any case, drink your wines (or, spirits) responsibly, and do not (for heavens’ sake) drink and drive this evening or even tomorrow or at any time. You do not wish to go to jail, or be the cause of horrible accidents. Plan the evening, and you can always find time to enjoy yourself with your family and friends. May be try taking a taxi, for a change. It is always safer. Better safe than be sorry, folks.

Cheers, and Wish you all a Great and Prosperous New Year in 2017 !

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan

31st December 2016

 

Leave a Reply

