Two Good Reds – Alkoomi and Chateau Des Tourelles


I had the good fortune of enjoying two excellent red wines at the start of the New Year, and was waiting for finishing the bottles before embarking on this post. Both are outstanding wines, and again I found that my wife is a better wine connoisseur than me – she was specific in her comments about both wines, and asked me to get these two wines again! That does not happen easily!

Alkoomi Frankland River Cabernet Sauvignon 2013

This is a fabulous red wine from Western Australia. Dark ruby red in colour, I could see the viscosity of the wine on the wine glass walls. The wine has a lingering finish with cherries and chocolatey flavours. Indeed this is a complex wine with great affinity, induced by the quality of the wine discerned to be worthy of a pricier varietal. I loved this one at the price it came, combined with the additional 8% off that I get as a wine club member. Strongly recommended. I am now looking for the same sticker price that I got, but unable to find it! Would go for it at the drop of the hat at the next available opportunity.

Chateau Des Tourelles Lalande de Pomerol 2012

French wines are difficult simply because they make it challenging even for a wine connoisseur to exactly describe their complexity and the superiority – probably people spend a lifetime before they get a grasp of the Bordeaux region of France. The above wine comes from one of the sub-regions of Bordeaux – the Lalande de Pomerol region just north of the famous Pomerol region known for its outstanding wines.

Coming back to the wine itself, it was smooth silky wine with great finish. It is probably a Merlot, or a combination of Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot. I realized that it is better to enjoy the wine rather than try to describe it accurately when it comes to French wines. So, here you go – this is an excellent wine, and I would not hesitate to buy another bottle more so because my wife strongly favoured it and recommended that I have made a great choice. The real fact is that this was a birthday gift for me, and I would not have bought it (due to my lack of knowledge) off the shelf in a regular wine shop (I would have gone for Chilean or South African wines).

Now, I have to appreciate such wines as well to cater to the preferences of my spouse. So, here I go……….

Enjoy your wines responsibly. Do not drink and drive. Do not drink more than 2 glasses of wine. Do not mix other drinks with wine.

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan

15th January 2017

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

