Rose Latte


My readers have come to expect atleast one weighty topic of global importance every weekend. I usually like writing about topics which are of public importance in a global sense. Of course, I also love writing about my wines and sundry things that I have accomplished in my life. Life is interesting if we set out to make it more colourful in a passionate way. I try to do that occasionally, and nowadays more often than not.

I read about this new Cafe in Changi Village called “Chock Full of Beans” which serves unique lattes with 3D art and a rose latte. I was intrigued. What is a rose latte and why haven’t I heard of it till now, not seen it at any of the myriad coffee shops that I have patronized for so long?

So I decided to check it out. My wife and I drove 25 KMs to reach Changi Village (I have been to this place only twice in the past so far) – probably considered as a “long distance” drive in Singapore! On the way back, we drove nearly 30 KMs. All just to have a latte? Looks like, right?

Well, we reached Changi Village with all its limited parking availability, and were lucky to find one just opposite to the block housing the Cafe. There was a lot of people milling around due to the ferry terminal just next door, though the vehicular traffic was light. We located the Chock Full of Beans Cafe, which was not crowded at 4:45 PM, though one would expect it to be. Later I found the reason – there were a series of cafes around the place, and many local eateries wherein one can get coffee for SGD 1.80. Further, had Chock Full of Beans were not covered in the newspaper, I would not have discovered it. My guess is many people don’t know about such cafes, and even if they do, would find it difficult to traverse the distance for just having a coffee.

Now, let us look at the real product offering. Of course, we came for Rose Latte and so we ordered the hot one after engaging in a conversation with the waiter on which is better – hot or cold, and which one is more preferred. The answer was typical – 50:50! We also ordered some truffle fries so that we can check out how they are in the food department. We did not try anything else from their Western Food Menu (you can view the same at CHOCK FULL OF BEANS), so we cannot comment on their overall food quality.

It took a long while to get even the coffee (more than 10 minutes), which is fine with us, as were anyway chatting about everything under the sun and what was going on around us. We noticed that there were several restaurants across the road in the opposite block – a French restaurant (!) and an Indian one with “Shalom” written on their banner outside (!!). I did not see any ferry travellers in the Cafe. I told my wife that travellers will usually be in a rush to get on to their ferry, and upon returning will rush back home, so it is unlikely that they walk around looking for coffee with their luggage.

Th Rose Latte finally arrived. My wife liked the rose petals floating on the coffee and the bunny pic on the face of the coffee. The Cafe would do 3D art on the coffee provided they get adequate time to do the art work. The coffee smelled nice, and tasted fine with the rose essence emanating from it. My wife liked it, but then she asked me to finish it off as she could not take a lot of it. As we had originally asked for very less sugar, it was fine with me, though I don’t understand why almost all cafes deliver the lattes at lower temperatures – my wife says that they mix cold milk instead of hot milk like what we do at home. So, if you order latte, ask the cafe to deliver it real hot. I would give only a passing grade to their Rose Latte, may be 3.5 out of 5.0, so there was some disappointment in my face.

The truffle fries were a bigger disappointment. The quality was not great, and the quantity was small for the price they were charging. Truffle fries usually are more expensive than the normal fries due to the cheese, but I have had far better quality and quantity at similar prices in the town itself. So, on this count as well I have to state that the cafe quality was average.

Overall, it was OK to have travelled more than 50 KMs in all to have a coffee; the question is, what else can we do in Singapore and how to optimize available time. One has to try out new things which crop up, and one has to express what one thinks in a blog post like this!

Thanks for reading a not so great post about an average experience. Let me look for better experiences.

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan

14th May 2017

Leave a Reply

