The Orchard Experience


This looks like another mundane post, and it probably is one.

After a very, very long time, I decided to do two things today (Saturday).

The first one was to leave the car at home, and take a bus. The second one was to accompany my family for shopping in Orchard Road, after a rather long time. For starters, I do not personally shop for my clothes in Orchard Road malls. For information on where I do shop, wait for another blog post!

Taking a bus in Singapore is always a pleasant experience – and I am doing that after some 20 months or so. The buses are clean and well maintained, with very effective air conditioning and prompt stop arrivals. I was a bit worried whether my Transit Link card (the magnetic card used in Singapore for public transport) will work after such a long time and if there was enough balance in it. It worked and it had some balance, so I breathed a sigh of relief though I had a back up card.

The advantage of having a small population dissolves quickly when one is on public transport or when one visits heavily crowded shopping places like Orchard Road. Today was no exception. Orchard Road was very crowded, and there were people everywhere – especially when I tried to cross traffic lights, the junctions were overcrowded. At any pedestrian crossing, there were some 100 folks waiting to cross. The pavements on Orchard Road are wide, and you can imagine if these pavements are crowded. It appeared to me that the whole of Singapore was intent on Orchard Shopping during the Great Singapore Sale which is currently in progress. The number of cars on the road was unbelievably high. I saw that the car drivers were violating traffic rules, but then their assessment of the change in traffic lights was probably skewed. I would prefer if they make all of Orchard Road car-free during the weekends. Then we can walk anywhere on the road and enjoy complete freedom and also have icecream stalls lining up the road!

Now comes the actual shopping experience. We shopped at Robinsons Heeren on Orchard Road, and Metro in Paragon. Both are good places to shop, though I felt that Robinsons was overpriced even after the hefty discounts. They seem to be inflating the prices and then taking off big discounts, which then appeared to me as “overpriced”. For example, how can a bermuda short be originally priced at SGD 59 and then offered at SGD 33 (which, in my opinion almost twice the price in Kuala Lumpur for example, and 50% more than what one can get in the U.S.). How is this a grand sale? Other examples can easily be cited, but after walking around the 4th Floor of the Robinsons Heeren (Mens Section), I came to the easy conclusion that I can afford only two things in reasonable price range – vests and socks!

Of course, my family went around buying stuff they liked. I realized that my price data switch was always switched on, and was not compatible with the expectations of youngsters. So, I did not comment on purchases made by the family, though I made mild protests on the prices of T-shirts.

We all took a break and went for lunch at the renowned P.S. Cafe located on Level 3 of Paragon Shopping Centre. The food was great, though again overpriced. But then the ambience was excellent. We had to wait for some 20 minutes but it was worth the wait for some very good western food.

My son and I wandered into the newly opened Apple Store located just next to the Heeren building. It was a fabulous sight and experience. All products of Apple and its partners were on display (including drones, speakers, various accessories, etc.,). Looks like a huge investment by Apple but then it could be justified given the impact of the Apple brand in Singapore. Few people were buying anything, but it is still early days I guess.

Overall, the shopping experience on Orchard Road (though limited to couple of places in one small stretch of the road) was very good and I enjoyed it. It has been a while since I did that, and though I did not purchase anything substantive it was good to mingle around and watch folks make their choices. Robinsons had a big walk-in crowd at any time, and it is a trusted brand of Singapore for a long time though I disagree with their pricing strategies. They have to make a big profit to be sustainable given the real estate prices in Singapore and that too, in the most prestigeous Orchard Road, which remains as one of the most reputed shopping areas in the entire world.

On the way back home, we took a Grab taxi which worked out rather cheap (in fact cheaper than the bus) as we got a SGD 5 discount due to the Fifth Anniversary of Grab.

Good shopping and Good public transport experience,

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan

10th June 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

