Montes Classic Series 2015 Merlot


I have written about Montes wines in the past blog posts. Montes vineyard is famous for its outstanding wines, located in the Colchagua Valley of Central Chile.

Merlots are getting more and more popular out here in Singapore, I see many Merlots on the shelves in supermarkets as well as in specialty wine stores. Obviously, the flavourful fruity medium-bodies Merlot wines are catching the attention of new (as well as seasoned) wine drinkers.

The Montes Classic Series 2015 Merlot is a fantastic Merlot, very drinkable, very fruity and was surprisingly available at an affordable price! I quickly grabbed it, and I was not disappointed at all. I have never tried the Merlot from Montes in the past – it has been Cabernet Sauvignon and Chardonnay so far. However, once you see the familiar Montes name and the flying maiden’s picture on the bottle, it becomes an easy decision!

I have developed my wine tasting skills over the past decade and a half, and so I was able to sync up with what Montes claims to be the characteristics of the wine – in this case, I can clearly feel the “fruitiness” (and most people will do almost instantaneously), however the flavour of black pepper takes some time to discern. The wine was very smooth, with an oakiness which comes from aging the wine in French oak, which adds a distinct complexity to the wine.

In a nutshell, the Classic Series Merlot 2015 is a well-rounded Merlot, beautifully fruity, with an acidity which tingles on the palate. I really enjoyed this wine – I kept it for one whole week before I finished it. I am surely going to look for another bottle. I was really taken aback with the price differential – you can get this wine for less than USD 10 in most Western countries, as compared to over USD 18 – 20 in Singapore. Well that has been my grouse for a long time as my blog readers know.

Strongly recommended.

Have a great weekend.

Cheers,

Vijay Srinivasan

5th August 2017

Leave a Reply

